Interviews

I always dread going to them. Not job interviews, but the interviews I have to conduct for an article in the magazine. They’re so much work! I mean, first I have to prepare 10+ questions, travel to wherever the interviewee is, do the interview, transcribe it (SUCH a biznatch), and then write it up. Not only that, but most of the time the people I interview in person are on the business side of various companies like companies that make leather goods, or watch companies, or jewellery companies. Or, the company itself seems really boring –  like when I had to interview the CEO of a suitcase making brand yesterday. (If I were always interviewing famous/interesting people that I admired, that’d be a totally different story.)

The thing is, once I show up, the interviews normally (maybe 95% of the time) turn out pretty interesting. I’ve noticed that it’s the people who are very passionate about what they do, whether it’s make seemingly-uninteresting luggage, or a very traditional leather goods brand, that makes the story behind it interesting regardless of the final product. 

Last night the interview I conducted with the luggage maker ended at 10 instead of 7, because the people before me went way overtime, so the PR people invited me to go to dinner with them and do the interview there. I hate spending time outside of work working, but I needed to get the interview so I thanked them and agreed to go. 

After agreeing upon different times to ask questions (I probably stopped and started recording about 5 times) and the CEO and I were actually talking, it was clear that he was very passionate about what he does. Even though I personally find the luggage kind of ugly (or did before the interview, anyway), his passion made me care more about it and also appreciate the different aspects that make the luggage really good luggage. Isn’t that weird? I never thought I’d care about luggage beyond what colour mine is (bright pink, thank you very much), but the fact that he was so passionate about it and clearly thinks through all the different details that go into it made me appreciate why it’s outrageously expensive, and why people would purchase it.

Not only that, but he kept saying how he loves what he does and how it’s very important to love what you do – a conclusion I came to after graduation, and one that I’m still trying to live. 

Interviews can be very inspiring, and I’m going to try to remember that the next time I interview someone who on the surface doesn’t seem that exciting. Now, I have to go write up that interview I did…

2 Responses

  1. It’s always such a burden to interview people that have zero personality or interest in what they do. Are you going to be writing in New York as well? I came to New York hoping to write, as I went to school for journalism, but now I’m in fashion. I still do freelance every once in a while on the side 🙂

  2. job interviews are hell on earth.

Leave a Reply

