How (I) Got My Groove Back

It’s 1:22am on a weekday and I can’t sleep. Either the caramel frappuccino I had after lunch is still in my system, or I just have too much going on in my head, but for once, they’re all happy thoughts.

I love my friends. I am so grateful that I have all these awesome people in my life; people who have the ability to make me smile when I think of them, who say silly things for us to laugh about, who tell me good things about myself whether I need to hear them or not, and people who remind me that life is good. Because it is.

Chatted to a friend in NYC earlier, she was at work and IMed me, and she was the one who got me excited about moving again. My sister forwarded me the NY Times article on finding your first apartment in NYC this morning (er, yesterday morning), and that article was pretty much gloom and doom for anyone who isn’t making like $100K a year. Needless to say, that just added to the worries I had about finding affordable living once I move, how I’m gonna figure out all the paperwork (I can’t provide payment stubs if I don’t have an income by the time I’ve found an apartment, and I’ve never filed taxes (oops?) so I don’t have any tax returns or whatever, and I’m still not really sure what a W2 form is), etc etc. It’s a headache!

Anyway my point is, I talked to my friend and she was like “Don’t worry, I’ll help you.” And right after that, I felt calmer about the whole apartment hunting, and even the job hunting (for some reason I tend to worry more about the apt than the job!) that I’ll be doing the moment I’ve landed. My nerves calmed and instantly I was able to get excited again, instead of all worried.

This is just one example of why I love my friends, although there are many more.

Bottom line is: they help bring me back to Who I Am. And I am a happy, optimistic person by nature (seriously. Ask any of my friends.). When I worry or just have the mean reds all the time, that’s not me. I’ve got my groove back baby, and it’s all thanks to my family by choice. 🙂 So thank you, friends, for being a great friend. (This includes you, LMM!) I couldn’t have done it without you.

(…and that concludes my Oscar acceptance speech…LoL)

PS. Drawing again is helping, too. 🙂

PPS. Mom, you and Dad are awesome too. Don’t feel left out! 😉

6 Responses

  1. I came across your blog on Technorati. Nice site layout. I will stop by and read more soon.

    Mike Harmon

  2. Hey Jess, been reading your blog for a few weeks now… I moved from Oregon to NJ last year and if you don’t have a roommate, I recommend actually moving to NJ for awhile. You can get a nice 1-bedroom apt. from between $900-1,000, which is half the price of most NYC studios, and you’re only about 30-40 min. away. tons of people commute into the city for work and for fun on the weekend. Hoboken, NJ is pretty expensive, like $1500 for a 1-bedroom, but Weehawken and other areas aren’t as bad. You might also consider Brooklyn, at least to start out. Just something to keep in mind.

  3. You are an AWESOME person, and I’m SO glad you got your groove back!!! NO more worrying– everything will work out and be FANTABULOUS! 😀

  4. Always have a friend to help you with moving to NY 🙂 And if you want something cheaper……like Allison said, you can live in NJ…OR Brooklyn, like I do. Or Queens. Or the Bronx. (But I’m partial to the BK community!)

    Good luck! And I’m an email away if you need any help!

  5. Oh no! I’m going to have to look up that article now. I’ve been on craigslist a lot recently and have found a few places for $1000/month but it was always with roommates and for closet sized apartments.

    I’m happy you have some friends to help you with your move. It’s just too stressful otherwise 🙂

  6. I really hope you find something nice and affordable. I hear NYC is very expensive to live though, I guess depending on the areas of course. 😦 I hope everything works out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

