“Bloggy Friend Swap”

So I participated in my first ever bloggy friend swap (like a pen pal exchange, except everyone’s a blogger – Candice don’t make fun of me, lol) that Rachel over at Confessions of a Jersey Girl set up. The idea was for bloggers everywhere to sign up, and Rachel paired us all off to send that particular blogger something from where we live. I got paired with Jen at Hey, y’all!, who lives in – you guessed it – NYC! haha

I got my stuff last night, and since I don’t have a camera, I had to use Photo Booth to take a pic of what she sent (which is why all the writing is in reverse):

There was also a typed letter explaining what she sent, and this is what it said:

Hi, Jess!!

Here’s your package all the way from NYC! Open it first and take a look, then read the story. Go ahead. Open it up. (See, I even recycled a Macy’s box from the Macy’s store on 34th St!) Ok, so it looks like a necklace one might buy at Macy’s right? Oh, no! It’s so much more than that!!! My friend [TR – not sure if I should put the full name on the blog – Jen you can let me know!] makes jewelry. A few years ago she started getting hired by Broadway theatres to make pieces for the shows. She’s kind of modest about it, but we’ve been friends for a while, so she lets me buy her pieces when I want to. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, this particular piece was made for a production of THE RIVALS which was performed at Lincoln Center Theatre in 2005 and which was, incidentally, my first Broadway show to work on as a stage manager! It was made for the actress Dana Ivey to wear, but her black costume got cut from the show (it took her too long to change into it), so the necklace didn’t make it past dress rehearsal.

Anyway, T reclaimed it and sold it to me. All the money she made will be donated to Broadway Cares, a charity that contributes money to great causes, like helping people in the Arts get health insurance, free mammograms, walk-in health care and the like. Plus, every New York girl (which you will soon be!) needs some cute jewelry to wear out and about! I hope you enjoy it and the story behind it.

The other thing, as the post-it says, is my first map of NYC. I am sending it along to you, the next New New Yorker. May you enjoy it as much as I did and may you never lose your way.

Take care,

Jen ๐Ÿ™‚

Isn’t she the sweetest?? I am thrilled with what she got me, and I totally love the story behind the necklace AND the map (which is waterproof ! Yeah, really!!), and I also love that the map was handed to Jen when she first move and now she’s passed it on to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now I REALLY can’t wait to move…and Jen, thank you for the lovely package, and I hope you like your presents when you get them!!

4 Responses

  1. wahoo!!!! that was the awesomest package EVER! i love it! i’m so happy for you and i’m glad this got you even more excited to make y our move to the city! :o) xoxox

  2. I am soooo glad you like it! I had so much fun doing the swap and I’m thrilled that you and I were matched up!

  3. Aw that was really sweet! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. What an awesome thing to do… and what a GREAT package!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

