(Back From Beijing) Catch Up!

Back from my trip, and woo do I have a million pics! (I LOVE my camera. 🙂 ) ANYway…did y’all hear about the earthquake that hit China? I had absolutely no idea about it, since I was still in the air at the time it happened, didn’t find out until our press group were heading to dinner and one of the PR people was talking about it. It’s freakish – I can’t believe there are 12,000 people dead, all in one go. And, 7.8 on the Richter Scale! If I recall correctly, the big ’89 earthquake (which I was in, thankyouverymuch) was ‘only’ around 6.5, and that caused major disaster to San Francisco and the Bay Area in general. So, send our prayers to China!!!

Back to the weekend…parents left Saturday morning, and C-Butt came over for dinner and for me to do her hair & makeup before going out. Uneventful night, and we got home pretty early (2!), and then crashed. (Lauren she tested out your future mattress and said it was comfy, fyi.) Sunday we lazed around all day, watching Nanny McPhee and crying our way through Stepmom on HBO before going grocery shopping and then making a REALLY GOOD DINNER. LoL. Our main thing was Kraft mac ‘n cheese, but I had the idea to bake it with cheese on top in the oven, and we decided to add some sausages, salad & broccoli, and mashed potatoes and gravy. (For the mac ‘n cheese, make it like normal, then put it in an oven safe glass dish, smother with shredded mozzerella and bake in the oven at 180 celcius (350 F, I believe) for 15 minutes – it’s SO GOOD.) Pics:

Anyway. The trip was pretty short, but it was good. China was still China – dirty, polluted, and tons of mainlanders…ha. Still, I had my very own room at The Peninsula, and it was gorgeous. I was only disappointed that they didn’t give me a room with one bed; instead I got two. Wtheck am I meant to do with two beds? I am only one person… But, I did enjoy the TV in the bathroom – watched Loser on HBO while showering one night. haha

The Napolean exhibit was pretty interesting, and although this trip was for a watch brand, I’m glad that they didn’t try to shove the brand’s history down our throats or anything (as press events tend to do, with whatever product they’re promoting at the time). And I met the 7th generation direct descendant of the founder, as well as the Head Curator from the Louvre which was cool. The only slightly annoying part was that the press conference was held in Mandarin and French…neither of which are my best languages, lol.

Last night the dinner was held at Bei Hai park, where the Emperor and Empress used to dine during Mid-Autumn Festival. We ate in the same room that they used to eat in, and the food was recreated as a fusion of Manchurian and ‘Han’ Chinese food. (The Emperor and Empress were Manchurian.)

Beijing pics:

And now it’s bedtime for me – back to work tmr (ugh!) and working this Saturday as well, plus my 2nd cousin’s in town on Friday…busy busy busy! Girl’s gotta get her rest now 😉

4 Responses

  1. I don’t understand earthquakes. The biggest one I was in (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nisqually_Earthquake) was 6.8 but didn’t do *that* much damage.

  2. Glad you had a fun trip!

  3. That mac & cheese sounds soooooooooooo good… and now I’m all hungry! 😛

    And the second bed? One to “play” in and one to sleep in, silly! 😀

    Glad you’re back!

  4. I hate having to go to work after a glorious trip! It looks like fun.

    The earthquake news stories make me so sad 😦

Leave a Reply

