Go on, get a life.

Although the first time I left Hong Kong did start out to be for academic reasons, towards the end of my sophomore year the bitchiness built up and I was relieved to be getting away from it all anyway. Now, 10 years later, I am still hearing bitchy comments about me behind my back, said during a dinner in London over the weekend (I’m not even in London!), with people I haven’t seen in for-EVER. (Actually I didn’t hear the exact comment(s), but only because I chose not to. All I know is that my name (and my BFF’s) came up, and some not-so-nice things were said about me).

Seriously, people, grow up. High school was over a long time ago, I left Hong Kong for the first time 10 years ago, and we were even friends when we were both in UK for uni, although now I wonder whether we were really friends. Anyway that’s not the point – the point is that at the ripe old age of 23/24, people are still bitching. Find someone better to bitch about! There is nothing to say about me, my life is hardly exciting enough to garner any gossip, and my character? Say what you want, just be smart enough not to say it to people who are my friends!

This is a reminder of how I felt when I left HK the first time 10 years ago, although now all those people from my old school are scattered all over the world, so running to NYC is hardly escaping. The saddest part is that I went to that school for 10 years, and yet I can count the number of people I consider true friends on one hand. I have more friends from my 2 years at boarding school, or from 1 year in Massachusetts, or even 3 years in England, or the last 2 years I’ve spent back in Hong Kong.

Still, it’s a relief to know that I have real friends – and if I find out anyone is bitching about any of them, it’s time to whoop a$$! (When I read that my BFF’s name came up I instinctively felt uber protective, even though she’s the sweetest, prettiest girl I know and there isn’t really anything bad to say about her to begin with!)

5 Responses

  1. Frenemies suck.

  2. God I hate it when people do that. Leave the HS BS back in the past and move on. Just shows you how you might have turned out if you hadn’t moved on and evolved.

  3. People will ALWAYS have/find something to bitch about.

    Grow up, haters!

  4. Ugh, that’s so lame. People really do need to grow up and move on.

  5. people that feel the need to repeat nasty comments have nothing better to do with their time anyway..I would just feel sorry for them and move on with your life not thinking about what anyone has said prior…if they do it to you, they probably do it to others as well..

Leave a Reply

