Typhoon 8

Ok, so last night I was definitely hoping and praying for the Typhoon 8 (hurricane, for you North Americans) to last until this morning so that I’d at least get a half day off work. Now it’s 6am after not being able to fall asleep until around 3am, and I can’t get back to sleep due to the winds literally lashing at my window panes (my bed’s right next to my windows). I took a look outside and it’s weirdly yellow, so I tried to take a picture but the pic came out much too blue and I’m too tired to figure out the manual way of trying to expose it so that it captures the hue correctly.

Then I decided I’d try to take a lil video clip of it, but everytime I recorded (after figuring out how to do that on my camera) I’d never catch the lashings, just the heavy rainfall. Sigh. Failure, at 6am.

Just read the weather observatory’s site, which says:

Here is the latest Tropical Cyclone Bulletin issued by the Hong Kong Observatory.

The No. 8 Southwest Gale or Storm Signal was issued at 5:45 a.m. It replaces the No. 8 Northwest Gale or Storm Signal.

This means that winds with mean speeds of 63 kilometres per hour or more are expected from the southwest quarter.

…and they said that they will lower the typhoon signal to 3 (which means I’ll have to go into work after all) ‘later this morning’. Guess that means I better get back to sleep in case I end up having to go to work later today anyway. Blah!

I’ll post the pics later anyway, and possibly one video clip. Back to bed for me…hopefully I can shut out the noise of the rain – I mean normally I love curling up in bed when it’s raining hard outside, but this is just ridiculous!

3 Responses

  1. Wow that sounds like some crazy weather. I love thunderstorms, but typhoons/hurricanes scare me!

  2. Gah! I love when the weather affords me days off…this usually happens for snow…though it hasn’t really. Haha.

  3. Wow, crazy! Hope you get the day off… 🙂

Leave a Reply

