Gossip Girl Fashion

GG

There’s an article in the New York Times about the clothes on Gossip Girl, and how they’ve launched new trends and how sales skyrocket after people seeing the clothes on a particular episode. Apparently fall is looking to a return to the preppy style, and now

some fall designer collections will also bear a “Gossip Girl” influence, a trend first seen in February on the New York runways, when the series ignited “a pretty huge resurgence of ritzy, preppy and collegiate looks,” said Amy Astley, the editor of Teen Vogue, citing punky school-girl styles from Marc by Marc Jacobs and Henry Holland, and crested blazers at Ruffian, among others

according to the article. The main two styles are the differences in Serena and Blair’s:

Devotees generally fall into two camps: those taken with the worldly nonchalance of Serena (Blake Lively), the show’s queen bee, and others fixated on the fussier style of Blair Waldorf (Leighton Meester), who is given to layering on brooches, pearls, scarves, a shrilly colorful blazer and patent leather pumps, topped with a frilly headband.

(Not sure why they call Serena the show’s queen bee, when clearly it’s Blair who’s queen bee, even when she’s an outcast – it’s only a matter of time before she’s back on top! But I digress.) Blair’s style is quite fussy, but I feel like the styling in general is really fussy – there are so many layers of clothes and accessories and colours and prints and patterns and textures that it’s a little overwhelming. Take this picture as an example of what I mean, even though they’re all covered up in coats:

There is so much going on! It’s a little too busy for my taste, although I do also understand that they’re meant to be wearing uniforms and as a way to express themselves they take liberties with tights, shoes, bags and accessories. This, on the other hand, is a little more realistic, and something I can appreciate more, still preppy but not so busy:

See what I mean? This is also just pretty (though they’re clearly not in uniform, so it’s not quite comparable to the photos above):

Personally though, I prefer a simpler style that doesn’t quite have so much going on per outfit, and doesn’t make it look like I took an hour just to get dressed (who has the time?). I guess style-wise I’m more Serena than Blair, but a toned-down version for sure. You? 🙂

PS. Not sure if you’ve noticed, but I started tumblelogging: http://jessloves.tumblr.com or you can click on the tumblr button on the right. It’s mainly just posting photos and videos of things I love – warning: it can seem somewhat materialistic, but I just didn’t wanna keep posting random posts of photos of things I like! 🙂

7 Responses

  1. Those are some really interesting outfits. I’m with you, I love simple and elegant. But then again aren’t these suppose to be teenage girls? I’m 30! lol

  2. GG fashion can def be overwhelming: there was one episode where everyone was wearing technicolor trenchcoats. it was really distracting!

    but that yellow dress is Ralph Lauren (where I work) and it was all over our work homepage. hahaha

  3. I love GG fashion. They can take it to the extreme though.

  4. These girls are in high school?!? Yeah, I did NOT dress like that in HS… even without the uniform.

    Where are the flip-flops? The hoodies? Tight jeans and tanktops??? Different worlds…

  5. What a great post! I am all over Jenny’s style by the way

    And these rich Upper East Siders… it’s way too fashiony for the real world but I adore looking at it

    (Loooove Jenny’s little ankle socks over the tights look)

    Am gonna link this

  6. I do love a lot of the clothes/purses/jewelry on GG. I love the preppy look anyhow. They had a Coach jacket on there near the end of the season that was to die for.

  7. I agreed with you

Leave a Reply

