One WEEK.

Just got back from the family vaycay earlier tonight, was meant to go out but am so tired that I couldn’t actually muster any energy to go anywhere! Great trip, and I loved spending quality time with the fam 🙂

This time next week I am still en route to NYC, though I’d be landing in about 2 hours. How weird is that? It’s all coming up so quickly, even though at the same time I feel like I’d been waiting to move for forever! (Well, I’ve been wanting to move to NYC for just under a year now, and it’s been 5 months since I bought my one way ticket.)

I’m borderline really sad about leaving all my friends and family, and really excited to start a new life for myself in NYC – and the thought actually both electrifies and terrifies me at the same time. I think Quin once in an email conversation, told me that it’s good to do things that scare you – I hope she’s right! In the meantime though, I know I’ll be crying buckets this week as I have to pack up my life here and say goodbye to everyone. Part of me still thinks I’m crazy to leave when I have such a comfortable life with great people in it – that definitely doesn’t come easily. Still, I also know that career-wise, Hong Kong isn’t where I need to be right now, and I’m only 24, I need to go forth and explore, maybe rough it a little bit (although knowing me I’ll find ways to not have to…haha) and shake up my world a little bit, plug into the electricity of New York City and all that it has to offer.

More goodbye entries to come this week, I think, and then next week I’ll finally be able to start posting about the city itself, what I’ve been meaning to do since I started this blog!

6 Responses

  1. I’ve been watching you get ready for your move for such a long time now. I’m so excited for you! I moved to NYC (well, NJ actually) in June 2007 and it’s definitely been the best decision. I live in Hoboken right now, so if you need a friend in the city, just let me know!

  2. wow! this is so exciting – it’s finally time! it’s always been a…thought of mine to move to a new city and just go for it – you’re a very brave girl to move half way around the world! i visit NYC/NJ fairly often so if you ever need someone to grab coffee with – let me know :o)

  3. HOORAY! One week!!!

    Soooooooooo exciting!! 😀

  4. I can’t believe it’s only one week away. That’s so exciting!!!

  5. Wow!!! You are a brave person. I don’t know if I could even move to another state much less across an ocean. I’m sure you will be fine. At the age of 24 realizing this is what you need to do is amazing and I know it’s the right decision for you since you’ve been thinking about it so long. It’s not like you said, “I want to move to NYC!” and went the next week. You thought it through, planned, and now you are about to take the jump across the pond. Go Jess 😀

  6. How exciting!!! You’re gonna rock your new city!

Leave a Reply

