Who would steal my bed??

So as mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been pretty busy setting up my apartment and getting all my furniture. My bed frame was delivered yesterday by UPS, and I wasn’t home when it arrived but online it said it’d been signed for, so I went to the apartment later in the day to see what was going on with my bed. And when I got there? Nothing. No bed. Not in the lobby of my apartment, not in the hallway outside my door, not in my apartment, and no note or anything from UPS!

So now I get the added headache of trying to sort out the Case of the Missing Bed, and it’s really annoying. I’m pretty sure I can get my money back, but it’s just such a hassle! I called the super yesterday, he never saw it, then later spoke to his wife (he was out), and asked if anyone by the name of the person who supposedly signed for my bed lives in the building, but apparently not, and she advised me to call the building management company, so I did that but never got through until this morning (but he doesn’t get in until after 12.30, apparently), so I’ll have to call back. I also emailed UPS (there’s no number to speak to someone over the phone) and they wrote back saying I need to contact the shipper and have them file the claim for a missing package, but they’re in the Midwest and not even open yet, so I’ll have to call them back too.

UGH. I better get my bed and not have to pay a single thing extra!!

But seriously, who would steal my bed frame?? I don’t even live in a shady neighborhood at all, and plus UPS should NOT have let someone else sign for it!! I don’t get what happened.

Ugh…nightmare!

PS. On a much lovelier note, it’s my little sister’s 22nd birthday today! Woo! Happy birthday ma petite soeur! Love you times a google, come visit me soon, I’ll treat you to a belated birthday gelato & meal 😉 xoxo

7 Responses

  1. That’s crazy! Why would someone steal your bed?

    When we were getting registry gifts for our wedding I would always panic because the mail man would leave things on the step in the middle of the day. Lucky for me I lived on a very quiet block and my downstairs neighbors would bring the packages in whenever they were home.

    I hope that this bed problem gets solved soon and with as little stress as possible.

  2. OMG, that IS crazy!

    It was me. I needed a new bed. Sorry. 😉

    Happy birthday to the little sis!!!

  3. How awful! I hope this mess gets sorted out quickly, and that you get your bed!

  4. There is a possibility the driver is a moron and delivered it to the wrong address and didn’t care. I’ve heard that happening before. Good luck. Stay on it otherwise you may not get the bed. You will get your bed 🙂

  5. Ugh! The same thing happened to me when I was moving into my college apartment in Boston. Luckily, I didn’t have to pay for it, so hopefully the same with happen for you. Good luck getting settled in 🙂

  6. it doesn’t matter what neighborhood you are in… it happens.

    a suggestion is get one of those aerobeds, cheap on ebay, it gives you a comfortable bed, fast delivery, and, the luxury of a comfy guest bed for later.

    i slept on one for 2 years (i can’t believe i’m saying that!), with great linens… and was comfortable.

    not that i’d give up my amazing bed i have back here again….

  7. Oh dear … welcome to New York City … 🙂

Leave a Reply

