Reassessment

Okay, so this whole unemployed thing is definitely not working out for me, as much as I love being able to stay up late and sleep in until noon. And as unsatisfied as I am about that (joking to a friend earlier tonight that I never thought I’d be 24 and unemployed), I feel like I’m on the verge of something, and I can’t help but be a dreamer about my future, which leads me to a little bit of reassessing.

So yeah, maybe I did move to New York to start a career in book publishing, but while that isn’t going anywhere, it’s given me a chance to reassess my goals and my passions. For example, maybe I’m not meant to actually go into book publishing, as much as I would love to and see a long career in it if I ever get hired. Maybe, I’m meant to stay in something fashion-related, like styling. I’ve even thought about maybe being a personal shopper in the meantime – I mean, I know it’s a little different, but I have a certain satisfaction when I find great clothes/shoes/accessories and show them to friends and have them end up buying them, (like GBF, who bought about 5 things thanks to my suggestions when he was here in NYC!). I bet I’d be good at it!

Or maybe even doing something in education – I applied for a job as an admissions assistant at a private school, and thinking about it, I think I’d actually enjoy that. So I could possibly apply to get a masters in education – the same degree my mom has. I believe in good education, and I believe that an education really is the foundation of how you end up thinking, and it is so influential when you’re still young and impressionable. I bet I could write a whole essay about it if I put my mind to it.

So, I’m trying to keep my head and hopes up, even when it feels a little bleak in the employment department. Sometimes things take time to happen the way they’re meant to happen, but I truly believe that my future is here in New York. (Some drama with my ex-employer recently confirmed that – for the moment at least, I don’t see anything I want to do in Hong Kong, and definitely not the magazine industry there, where people are flaky and will jump at any chance to screw you over.)

This week is my week to find a job – I’m just gonna hit the streets running and with hope intact, I’ll just approach anywhere that looks interesting to see if they’re hiring. It can’t hurt, and who knows, I just may bump into my future. And anyway, isn’t all this thinking about who I am and re-evaluating who or where I want to be, or see myself be, what being a twenty-something is all about?

6 Responses

  1. Crossing my fingers in hopes that you’ll find SOMETHING.

    It’s hard to be looking for a job in this kind of economy, too. Boo!

  2. I know things are tough – but never give up! I can see that you won’t – you’re deserving of a job, and I’m sure you will find one, economy or not! If anywhere, New York is the place to do that.

    I had a good two months of looking for a job in NY – I ended up temping to make money – it was a fabulous job, though, and led me to the contacts I made to the current position I have in a great company. Email me if you want info on the temp agency I used, they’re great. I know exactly what you’re going through!

  3. I like the thought of bumping into the future. Maybe (hopefully) that will happen to me too.

  4. Re-assessing is always good. I hope you figure out where you fit. Fashion sounds awesome!

  5. Good luck finding a job! I know it can be stressful, but I’m sure you’ll find something wonderful very soon!

  6. fingers crossed for you… i’m not too concerned, though… anyone who sought out their dream with that kind of determination will continue to succeed in nyc.

Leave a Reply

