Working Girl

So I got that bookstore job, yay! I have to show up on Monday from 9-4 to fill in a ton of paperwork and to start training, and I finished my department store training last night, and will be starting work there tomorrow night and a full day Saturday! Eek. My mom suggested I get some support pantyhose – to avoid those varicose veins, y’all! haha Will get some once I figure out how to use my employee discount!!

The jobs came at a really good time too – after paying off November rent, my phone bill, and two credit cards, I’m feeling really quite broke. If I wasn’t working, I wouldn’t even have enough money to cover my December rent! So thank GOD for good timing!!

The sucky part is is that now I need to rein in the spending – less going out, eating out, and definitely no shopping unless ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY. And by that, I mean like “if I don’t have that [insert object here] I will die.” Literally. In fact, I’m trying to think of what I can sell on ebay to help me out a bit, to stretch out my safety net as much as possible!

Ick. Being broke sucks. I’m gonna sell as much stuff as I can when I start working the floor at the department store – really need the commission, and I don’t think I get any at the bookstore, which also pays less than my hourly rate at the DS! Seriously cannot wait until I get my first paychecks!!

6 Responses

  1. Congrats on the new jobs, darlin’! You’re gonna be a busy girl…

    It’ll all work out, just as it’s meant to! 🙂

  2. All right! Remember to save – it helps a lot! I had NO money when I moved to New York, too. It takes a lot of strength to keep going.

    And on nights you want some free alcoholic fun (if you drink!) there’s always myopenbar.com for new york bars 🙂

    WOO!

  3. Hooray for new jobs!

  4. Busy busy! Congrats on the new jobs!

  5. Woohoo, a job! Creating a strict budget when I got my first full-time job was THE BEST thing I’ve ever done.

  6. behind a bit… so, BOOYA my friend on the job… i’m in the city for three weeks…. if i see someone who looks familiar at a bookstore, do i pretend i don’t kmow you??

    aha!

Leave a Reply

