Working at the Bookstore (and a little more randomness)

At the bookstore a couple days ago, I was standing at the customer service counter when an elderly gentleman approached, and my coworker helped him. I wasn’t helping anyone at the time, but did offer up a smile anyway as he approached, and as he began talking to my coworker, he winked at me. I think my smile got stuck on my teeth, but only because I fully wasn’t expecting a wink! It’s kind of surprising how one little wink can raise your spirits – it’s so much cuter than, say, walking past a construction site, and is just such a friendly, cute and cheerful gesture that can also be interpreted as flirty in certain situations. People really should wink more!

***

Yesterday at the bookstore I was tidying up some tables when a customer approached, probably late 40s, short, slim, and balding. I turned, expecting him to ask for help in finding a book or a section of books, but he said, “Hi there, you are very pretty and I just wanted to come over and give you my card. [hands me his business card] If you are interested I would love to take you to lunch sometime.” He smiled, then walked away and I kinda just stood there holding his card and blushing. I’ve never been hit on at a job before, much less while wearing no makeup and my glasses, so it was definitely flattering but at the same time, it’s not like I’m ever going to call him! Ick. haha

***

The thing about working at a bookstore is that I see so many books I want to read, and when I’m meant to be tidying and rearranging books I end up just trying to sneak read the blurbs on the back, turning the books around while I’m rearranging other books. And then later when I’m not working, I never remember which titles I actually wanted to read. Ah. Too bad I’m not paid to just stand there and read!

***

I find I actually like customer service (I’ve been at the customer service desk for a few shifts, before I’ll be moved to my section), and the most rewarding thing is helping customers find books that they never would have found themselves, and them just being so pleased after! Last week I helped a customer find this random book on ships in New York, which was on a bottom shelf in the back corner of the bookstore, and she was so happy she actually shook my hand to thank me! And two days ago I helped another customer find something and when I put it in her hands she thanked me for my “persistence” in helping her find it and was really pleased. Being able to help people is rewarding, even if I am paid to do it.

***

I think my favourite part of my shifts is as I approach the bookstore. My heart always lifts and I smile to myself thinking how happy I am to be paid to be surrounded by books. I think that’s a sure sign as any that I really should get into book publishing! I love books, and bookstores, and reading, and I am only too happy to help people find books they want to read, too. 🙂

***

Off topic, but Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Can’t believe it’s tomorrow – where has the time gone? I’m gonna go watch a bit of the parade (why not, haha) and then head to my cousin’s friend’s place for dinner before I work all day Black Friday and on the weekend. Busy busy busy! I just wish I could spend Thanksgiving with my parents, grandma and sister in Hong Kong, but they know I miss them.

Speaking of fam, they sent me TWO boxes of Martha Stewart cookies as a get well soon-type package! Aww. 😀 Love them, I totally didn’t expect anything at all!

3 Responses

  1. I ALMOST took a job in a bookstore, before I started working here… sounds like you’re having a good time! 😉

    Happy Thanksgiving to you too!!!

    xoxox

  2. […] I’m gonna go watch a bit of the parade (why not, haha) and then head to my cousin’s friend’s place for dinner before I work all day Black Friday and on the weekend. Busy busy busy! I just wish I could spend Thanksgiving with my parents, …[Continue Reading] […]

  3. I’ve always wanted to work in a bookstore!

Leave a Reply

