Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving!

I totally missed the parade this morning. Oops. I planned on meeting my friend at Columbus Circle, but it just left as I got there! Should have met somewhere more downtown…oh well, next year! haha We went to get some food instead and it was fun, catching up and enjoying our meal in the warmth of Brooklyn Diner (in Manhattan. Yeah, I don’t know.) Afterwards I decided to walk home through the park, and it was really nice. I thought about how happy I am to be in New York, even if my jobs aren’t really what I expected, or aren’t really what I ultimately want for myself! Later I’ll be joining my cousin for dinner at his friend’s place. I picked up a bottle of wine so I’m all ready to go. 🙂

So this year, I am thankful for:

  • Family. Always there for me, ready to help with whatever I need help with, even as stubbornly as I cling to some notion of ‘independence’. And for that, I am very, very grateful and appreciative. There are no other words for it. 🙂
  • Friends. Or, as I like to think of it, my chosen family. I don’t know where I’d be without my friends, far and near. I am grateful that my BFFs in Hong Kong still keep me in the loop, and that I still very much feel like a part of their lives even though I am halfway across the world. I love that C-Butt still calls me for advice when she needs it, and I love how GBF Watson calls me nearly twice a day, every day! It feels like I’m still with them. 🙂 And as for my friends here – I really don’t know how I would have settled in without my roomie and Lo! (On that note, I’m also thankful that I know who my real friends are. It’s a blessing, it really is. At least now I don’t have to waste time on anyone who isn’t worth it. So I’m thankful for that too 🙂 )
  • Employment. Ok, so working retail wasn’t in the plan, but it’s so much better than not having a job at all. And I am grateful that one job is the same industry I want to be in, while the other brings in the moola (though I do work much harder for the commission!!). I just hope that soon I will have a start in my career of choice, or that other opportunities open up.
  • Living in New York. I can’t really explain it exactly, but it feels so right to be here, right now. I love it, and have no regrets about moving at all, even though it sucks royally to be away from my family and HK friends. I love this city, and am grateful everyday that I am here.
  • Fast healing. I had a follow-up doc’s appointment on Tuesday, and the doctor was surprised at how quickly my eye is healing, so I’m really happy. I told him that I’m a quick healer! 🙂 I still have to wear glasses into the new year, but at least I can see. And for that, I am grateful!!

Lots to be grateful and thankful for this year. 🙂 Isn’t that the best??

2 Responses

  1. Those are wonderful things to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. That IS the best, and this is a great list!

    It’s so important to remember…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

