Oh My FEET!

I am exhausted. I slept about 11 hours last night, since today is the only day I actually get to sleep in this week. I’ve been tired since Sunday, and I’ve been working non-stop since that day as well. Coincidence? Definitely not. Monday I worked at the bookstore from 9 to 4.30, then had to walk to the department store to start my shift at 5.40, which didn’t end until 10.10. Tuesday I had another 9am start at the bookstore, and two hours into it my feet were already aching. Normally that doesn’t happen until the end of the shift at the bookstore, but I think my feet were just way too tired from standing around all day on Monday. And they haven’t really stopped aching since.

I do like my bookstore job, but I really need a real job, and soon. My feet can’t take too much of this, and neither can I. Monday I had a slight breakdown in the morning, partly because of a stupid argument I had with someone Sunday night. I woke up still tired, and thinking about the 13 hour day ahead of me was too much to bear. I called my mom just upset, but there isn’t really anything either of us can do, because the reality is that I need to pay my bills, my rent, and right now the only way for me to do that is to keep both these jobs.

I paid off the last of my bills this morning (for December, anyway) and looking at what’s left in my bank account depresses me, as does the fact that I’m working another 13 hours tomorrow, and then 8.5 hour shifts at the department store both weekend days.

Someone PLEASE hire me now, seriously!

3 Responses

  1. Yowcha ma-gowcha!

    Hope you get a rest soon. 🙂

  2. Oh, and a new job! 😀

  3. Got here through a few different links, and I’m glad I did.

    First, you have a really nice blog! I love the banner on top – very cute. 🙂 Second, I couldn’t help but linger longer when I noticed that you have done something pretty similar to what I did a year ago… I moved to NYC on a whim, following some sort of intuition that I was meant to spend some time there, growing into my independent self, etc. And I had a total blast. The year I spent in NYC was the best year of my life (so far). I’m back in Singapore now with my family, and I still totally miss the life I had there. There’s something so unique about NYC… it’s hard to recreate it anywhere else.

    I’m sure you’re gonna have a blast in this city. 🙂 I hope you’re able to find a job soon enough (because juggling these two jobs you have right now sounds like it’s draining you!). And I’m sure you’ll have many more adventures in this big bad city. 🙂

    Do you mind if I link your blog? I’d love to follow along with your NYC episodes.

Leave a Reply

