Goodbye 2008!

What a year it’s been! Who can believe it’s nearly over?

I can still remember what I was doing this time last year. I had just started my magazine job and so far hadn’t quite learned to hate it as much as I did at the end. I was seeing all my best friends all the time, and running around Hong Kong caught up in holiday excitement. This year I only got really homesick once, on the night before Christmas Eve. I ended up calling my cousin and wailing, “I’m homesick!” through sniffles. His reply? “Yeah, I’m getting sick too!” …”Um, no, I said HOMEsick!”

Aside from that I’ve been SUPER busy working two jobs – I calculated the other day that if my schedules don’t conflict, I end up working 57.5 hours a week, all on my feet minus the time I’m on break! How crazy is that? Last night my feet were throbbing so much they didn’t stop until I woke up this morning. NOT fun! Not only that, but my apartment and my room is a mess. I barely have time to clean, although I’m going to do it tonight because it really needs to be done.

I’ve been reading a lot though, which I really like. I have a whole stack of library books, and a whole list of books to read! I recently read Sloane Crosley’s “I Was Told There’d Be Cake”, which is pretty funny and I recommend. It was easy to relate to, also being in my 20s and in NYC. I only wish I could write like her!

Speaking of which, I’ve already decided upon one New Year’s resolution: to write at least one blog post per week. I’ve been pretty lame with it recently, although like I said it’s because I’ve been so busy. I need to keep up!

Things to Look Forward to in ’09:

  • Ange Pants visiting! She’s coming for Fashion Week in Feb and we’ve already decided to be each other’s valentines. 😉 Everyone say AW!
  • Finding a career. It WILL happen. It’s my year!
  • The possibility of two other of my nearest and dearest visiting…but I don’t want to jinx it so I’m not saying who!
  • Summer in the city. I want to go to Bryant Park and watch a movie! Among other summer-y things, like hanging out in Sheep Meadow on weekends, wearing sundresses to brunch downtown, and getting gelato from L’Arte de Gelato or whatever that place is called, (L’Arte something, I just can’t remember what!) the one near Sushi Samba downtown.
  • My new schedule at the bookstore – I now get Sundays and Mondays off – two days in a row! Exciting stuff. Plus, I’m working the “midding shifts”, from around 10 to 7, which is nice. 🙂 And that starts this Sunday as well.

How’s everyone celebrating the new year?

PS. This is my 100th post! What a way to end the year, ey? 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Happy New Year!!!! Cheers to 2009!

  2. Congrats on 100 posts! Happy New Year!

  3. Big congratulations on 100 posts!!!

    And Happy New Year too– I hope it’s the best one ever! 😀

    I’m going to Disneyland! In 45 minutes… WOOT!

    xoxox

  4. i totally know what you mean about your apartment being a mess but you’re so busy at work. cleaning is usually out of the question for me, schedule wise. i would love for my apartment to be clean and neat, so people can see how cool it is.

Leave a Reply

