Room Rearranging

I love rearranging my room. It’s not very big, and for a while now I’d been thinking about how to solve my problems: namely, the fact that every time I want to open a drawer in my closet I’d need to kick some boots aside before both doors will open; my chair is always piled high with a bunch of clothes; my desk is always cluttered and has piles of receipts and mail and makeup all over it and I’d end up putting my laptop on the floor when I go to bed.

I thought about it for a week, and finally decided to take my closet doors off, fold my table back in half (it’s one of those expandable ones), move most of my makeup to my headboard (I have one of those tall storage headboards), and put the mirrors against two walls. I can finally tuck in my chair, and because I don’t have to be annoyed about opening my closet doors I actually willingly hang up them up every night (ok so I only took the doors down tonight, but I’m gonna try to keep it up!) and the mess on my desk is gone, and the boots have corners to sit in rather than just be all over my floor. It’s a beautiful thing. Although now all I want to do is rearrange the clothes in my closet because I don’t like how it looks. Next project! And the final touch will be personalizing my walls – still haven’t figured out what kind of art or photos or decorations I want to put up, although it’s always in the back of my mind!

I feel so much better – all this decluttering and making really good use of my space is good for the soul. (Or am I just a freak?)

Photos to come when I’m done!

PS. Who else constantly has Britney’s ‘Circus’ stuck in their heads? It’s like I’m addicted!

2 Responses

  1. Can’t wait to see pics!! And I loooove that song!

  2. OMG, if there’s one thing I hate about NYC living, it’s lack of closet space! My fiance yells at me because I am never able to close my closet door with a jacket, sleeve, or boot dangling out from between the doors!

Leave a Reply

