Last day at the internship…

…and other nerdy things.

So today was the last day of my internship. I can’t believe it’s over! Been there for so long that it feels like I’ve always had 2 work-type things going on in my life, work and internship. But now it’s just work. Which is just as well. I pretty much have learned all that I could learn there, and while it was definitely worthwhile and, I think, a valuable use of my time, I am so looking forward to having at least 2 days off a week! And the exciting things I’ve planned for next week are…going through all the crap in my room and tidying up my clothes, putting things away, and reorganizing. Yay I’m a nerd.

Also, I totally didn’t expect anything but when one of the agents left, she gave me the audio version of David Sedaris’s When You Are Engulfed In Flames! I’m so excited. I’ve already uploaded the first CD to iTunes and synced my iPhone so that I can listen to it on the way to work tomorrow. 😀

And, yesterday the nerdiest thing in the world happened to me. I was sitting on the subway going uptown, and when it was my stop I stood up, only the guy standing directly in front me turned to get off as well, and his arm swung around and literally knocked the glasses right off my face. I looked down to the girl I was sitting next to, and obviously was totally blind and couldn’t see them, and then the girl on the other side handed them to me. I squeaked out a “Thanks!” and quickly exited the train, right on the heels of the dude that knocked my glasses off, muttering “a-hole” to myself the whole time. I couldn’t decide whether to be pissed off, mortified, or amused, so it kinda just settled into a blend between the latter. Just had to share!

One more random tidbit – I’ve read 30 new books since I moved to NYC. How awesome is that? And I have 10 things on hold at the library. Yay! haha Oh my I’m a nerd. Well, there’s a reason I’m trying to get into publishing! 🙂

3 Responses

  1. don’t be ashamed, nerds are the best! heehee ;P

  2. hey! I just stumbled upon your blog! You might already know, but in case not, David Sedaris will be at Strand on June 2nd reading from When You are Engulfed in Flames… seems like you’ve already met him, but thought I’d let you know just in case. I’m definitely gonna be there to get a signed copy!

  3. Jess, that totally is something that would happen to me! Stupid crap like someone knocking my glasses off my face (and like you, I’m virtually blind without them)… I probably would have done the same as you, just muttered under my breath at the douchebag who did it, lol. I don’t reckon you should have been embarrassed at all, it wasn’t your fault!

Leave a Reply

