Stay…just a little bit longer

I got a job. 🙂

Can you believe it? Although to be fair, it’s totally, completely different from what I wanted when I moved here. It is not related to publishing whatsoever, but it will pay a lot more (enough so that once I get going, I may even be earning enough to live anywhere I want in NYC in a year’s time!), and it will also buy me time to see if I ever will be able to get into publishing. As one of my friends reminds me, it’s not a means to an end, it’s TRIAGE!

At the same time though, I think I’ll acquire a lot of new skills, and I know that whatever I end up doing later they’ll come in handy. Maybe I’ll even be an entrepreneur, and be my own boss completely somewhere down the line.

Either way, I’m happy I will get to stay in New York. My time here isn’t up! I still have so much I want to do! Like Shakespeare in the Park! (Which I’m gonna try to go to on Tuesday, or maybe next Saturday…)

I am sad about leaving the bookstore, but since they moved me to the music and DVD department, I’m slightly less nostalgic about it. Still, it must be noted now that I met such a great group of people there and I am sad I won’t be able to see them all the time anymore (and get paid for it!). Still, whoever is a real friend will still be my friend when I’m not there, and I will still visit the store (and all the books! Oh, how I miss the books…).

Who knows what opportunities this new job may bring? 🙂

5 Responses

  1. That’s exciting!!! All the best for the new job. Can you tell us what sort of industry its in?

  2. yay!1
    i”m so happy for you!

  3. That is so so so great! Congratulations.

  4. Congrats, love! (Sorry it took me so long to get back here to say it…) (And hope whatever happened in the next post is getting straightened out and that all is well with you!)

    Miss you!

    xoxox

  5. Hi

    Loved reading your posts… so glad you got the job. Even if it isn’t the job you really want to start up with…. Don’t give up on your dreams…

Leave a Reply

